MEMBER LOGIN

Just joined M&S
    • Years Exp
      < 6 Months
    • Goal
      Get Fit

Default Which Split is Best for a beginner?

Hi everyone!

This is my first post, so I'll do a little introduction - my name is Melissa. I'm a college student in the northeast US, and I started lifting weights with some sort of intelligence about two months ago. I'm 5'7", 157 lbs, measurements 39-30-41, upper arms: 12 inches, thighs: 23 inches. I don't look fat, but I know I'm about 30 lbs. over what I weigh when I'm happy and confident. I'm also not in terrible shape - I walk constantly at school. I've gained it over the past 3 years of school (a combination of bad eating, late night eating, alcohol, etc.), and I'm doing my best to a) lose it and b) get fit - in the best shape of my life; cut, toned, less body fat percentage, confident, etc.

I started two months ago with an upper body/lower body split:
    Monday: 7-8 upper body lifts on one day (for example, dumbell rows, lateral pull downs, bicep curls, trap shrugs, lateral raises, etc.) plus cardio
    Tuesday: just cardio and abs
    Wednesday: 6-7 lower body exercises (squats, leg press, hamstring curls, lunges, etc.) without cardio
    Thursday: cardio and abs
    Friday: upper body and cardio
    Saturday: cardio and abs
    Sunday: rest