MEMBER LOGIN

• Years Exp
      4-5 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle

Default A bit of advice for beginners

When I started training at the gym I found I got most of my new exercises from copying other people and also often copied other people's technique.

Although it's good to learn new exercises make sure you get someone with good experience who's opinion you can trust to help you get the technique, as many people in the gym do not complete the exercises 100% correctly and it makes all the difference!

When learning a new one I like to start with a light weight or just a bar depending on the exercise and get the technique sorted, then add the weights.

Another point that comes up a lot but is so important, It's not how much time you send in the gym to get the results, it's what you do while your there. A 45 minute work out is generally more than enough time for a muscle building routine.

I made the mistakes of not using the correct techniques and over training when I first started at the gym... Don’t make the same mistakes.... it makes things much easier and results will come faster!

Hope this helps a few people starting out at the gym!

[Good job I used spell checker on this, at least 15 spelling mistakes lol!!]
    Shaun

• Years Exp
      10-20 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Training Log

Unfortunately more people learn their technique by watching others. This is the worst thing you can do really for a number of reasons. The main one being that most guys use crap technique. I reckon i could only name a handful of guys in my gym that I see use good technique.

Before you even step into a gym you should start reading (like then info on this site and forum). I wasted the first 8 months of training with pretty much 0 gains because I didnt know what I was doing. It wasnt until I hired a personal trainer who pointed me in the right direction that things really started happening.