MEMBER LOGIN

Coming Up The Ranks
    • Years Exp
      2-3 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Training Log

Default Advice appreciated! Looking to combine strength & hypertrophy training

Hi all

I will keep this short. I have been training for a few years, and am currently attempting a slow bulk. I am currently 26 years old, 6'2, 190 lbs, 14-15% body fat.

I took up SS a few months ago, and I have worked up my numbers to a "reasonable" (PR for me!) base:

Squat: 235 5x3
    DL: 275 5x1
    Bench: 185 5x3
    OHP: 120 5x3

Obviously these numbers could be much better, but considering where I was for a while, they are pretty good for where I've come from. Now, I really do like the SS training style of short, heavy sets. Especially for lower body work (Squats and DL). But, I still feel like I'm lagging with my upper body work.

What's the best / smartest way to implement a strategy where I "build" more muscle on my upper body, while "build" strength with lower (esp with core/full body strength.) I have looked into PHAT and PHUL, but Lower body hypertrophy, at this point, is not an interest to me.

Is it as simple as using higher rep schemes for upper body work, and leaving lower body work at 5x3 level? Or, doing a split that isn't full body?

Thanks for your help!

Coming Up The Ranks
    • Years Exp
      2-3 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Training Log

I'd love responses. Thanks!

Just joined M&S
    • Years Exp
      Just Started
    • Goal
      Build Muscle

Strenght are overall trainning with low reps and somewhat big resting, in order to destroy the white fibers.
    hyperthopy requires some higher intensity and volume, in order to recruit the red fibers and actually try to recruit all fibers from the specific muscle.

If you want to mix both, you can make your 5x3 squat, then go for a 3x15 leg press. That's the idea from uniting the two world. I recommend you to read a lot.

Just joined M&S
    • Years Exp
      6-12 Months
    • Goal